The Ten Commandments

Ten Commandments

The Ten Commandments as handed down by God to Moses on Mt. Sinai were the beginning of the nation of Israel, when they were leaving Egypt as slaves, for freedom in the Promised land.  They were considered to be the Law of God for his chosen people.  The Ten Commandments are listed twice in Old Testament, first at Exodus 20:1-17, and the at Deuteronomy 5:4-21.

The Ten Commandments

  1. I am the Lord, your God.
  2. You shall have no other false idols before me.
  3. Do not take the name of the Lord in vain.
  4. Remember the Sabbath day by keeping it holy.
  5. Honor your father and your mother
  6. You shall not murder.
  7. You shall not commit adultery.
  8. You shall not steal.
  9. You shall not give false witness against your neighbor.
  10. You shall not covet anything that belongs to your neighbor.

Pin It on Pinterest